About TCA

TEXAS CORRECTIONS ASSOCIATION is dedicated to providing a forum for promoting quality correctional practices through professional growth, leadership, mentorship and education. TCA is organized to anticipate and respond to the needs of our members, clients and the general public.

  • Building the public awareness, recognition, knowledge and support for the corrections profession and the corrections field.
  • Promoting ethical practices and a code of ethics for the benefit of the corrections professional and the general public.
  • Creating a strong environment of education and information through conferences, training, communications and website.
  • Protecting our communities through education and development of citizen support for prevention, control and treatment of crime and delinquency.

Executive Director

Ashley Koonce

Sam Houston State University
George J. Beto Criminal Justice Center
Huntsville, Texas 77341-2296

(936) 294-1706; Fax (936) 294-1671
Email Ashley

2020 – 2021 Board of Directors


Tobin Lefler
Cameron/Willacy Counties CSCD
(956) 548-9500
Email Tobin



Vice President

Bobby Lumpkin
TDCJ – Correctional Institutions Division
(936) 437-2170
Email Bobby


Rene Hinojosa
TDCJ – Rehabilitation Programs Division
(936) 437-7270
Email Rene


Jameson Pennington
Williamson County CSCD
Email Jameson

Past President

Pamela Thielke
Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles
(737) 262-4561
Email Paul


Paul Brown
(409) 722-5255
Email Paul


Tracy Koller
Tarrant County MHMR
Fort Worth, Texas
Email Tracy


David Driskell
MTC Diboll
Email David


Carey Green
TDCJ – Community Justice Assistance Division
Austin, Texas
Email Carey


Christopher Carter
TDCJ – Rehabilitation Programs Division
(936) 437-7328
Email Christopher


Tami Coy
Texas Juvenile Justice Department
(512) 490-7031
Email Tami